AFSOC honors Outstanding Airmen, civilians

  • Published
  • By Dawn Hart
  • Air Force Special Operations Command Public Affairs
Air Force Special Operations Command leaders recognized the command's finest at a formal banquet May 15, 2014, at the Soundside club.

The evening was the pinnacle event in a week that began with honorees receiving the key to the city from Ft Walton Beach Mayor, Mike Anderson and included tours and briefings from around the base.

The banquet honored two AFSOC members who were awarded the 2014 Lance P. Sijan Leadership Award. This award recognizes the accomplishments of officers and enlisted members who have demonstrated the highest qualities of leadership in the performance of their duties and the conduct of their lives.

MSgt. Delorean Sheridan won the Junior Enlisted Category. Sheridan is a combat control craftsman assigned to the 21st Special Tactics Squadron, Pope Field, N.C.

Maj. Randall L. Harvey II won the Junior Officer Category. Harvey is a flight commander with the 320th Special Tactics Squadron at Kadena Air Base, Japan.

A highlight of the evening was the recognition of the command's 2014 Outstanding Airmen and Civilians of the Year:

SrA. Judd Rogers, Airman of the Year, 551st Special Operations Squadron, Cannon AFB, N.M. Rogers is a special missions aviator instructor.

Sheridan, Noncommissioned Officer of the Year (Sheridan was a technical sergeant when submitted for this award and was step promoted in December.)

MSgt. Ronnie Brickey, Senior Noncommissioned Officer of the Year, U. S. Air Force Special Operations School, Hurlburt Field, Fla. Brickey is an Explosive Ordnance Disposal craftsman.

MSgt. Katherine A Grabham, First Sergeant of the Year, 901st Special Operations Aircraft Maintenance Squadron, Hurlburt Field

Capt. Ben Self, Company Grade Officer of the Year, 321st Special Tactics Squadron, Mildenhall RAF. Self is a special tactics officer.

TSgt. Matthew Marschall, Individual Reservist of the Year Enlisted Category, 15th Special Operations Squadron, Hurlburt Field. Marschall is the assistant noncommissioned officer in charge of squadron plans.

Capt. Stacie Carroll, Individual Reservist of the Year Officer Category, Headquarters Air Force Special Operations Command, Hurlburt Field. Carroll is an AC-130 training officer in the Aircrew Training Division.

Jose H. Altimirano, Civilian of the Year Category I, 27th Special Operations Civil Engineer Squadron, Cannon AFB. Altimirano is an engineering technician and computer-aid design drafting specialist.

Brandy L Chavez, Civilian of the Year Category II, 27th Special Operations Civil Engineer Squadron, Cannon AFB. Chavez serves as the Environmental Element Chief.

Shawn Cordaro, Civilian of the Year Category III, 27th Special Operations Maintenance Squadron, Cannon AFB. Cordaro is an aircraft machinist.

Awards were also presented to the Air Commando Association recipients from 2013.

CMSgt. Roland "Hap" Lutz Air Commando Medic of the Year - TSgt. George Gonzalez Jr., 352nd Special Operations Support Squadron

AFSOC Squadron of the Year - 33rd Special Operations Squadron

SrA. Julian Scholten ISR (Intelligence, Surveillance and Reconnaissance) Commando of the Year - SSgt. Candis Woods, 25th Intelligence Squadron

Commander's Leadership Awards:
Air Force Special Operations Command - Capt. Derek McCafferty and SSgt. Edward Crowe
Air Force Special Operations Air Warfare Center - Capt. Joanna Zemek and SrA. Seung-Jae Oh
1st Special Operations Wing - Capt. Matthew Slack and TSgt. Lucas Barker
24th Special Operations Wing - Capt. Gregory Walsh and TSgt. Jeremy Whiddon
27th Special Operations Wing - Capt. Timothy Young and TSgt. Jacob Arnold
58th Special Operations Wing - TSgt. Seamus G. Feeley
193rd Special Operations Wing - Capt. Ryan Palombo and SSgt. Nicolas J Crouse
919th Special Operations Wing - Capt. Brandon Brown and SSgt. Edward A. Ashford
352nd Special Operations Group - Capt. Alexander Dufaults and TSgt. Zachary Wahlers
353rd Special Operations Group - Capt. Adam G. Schmidt and SSgt. Travis J. Simmons