Two Special Tactics Airmen among Air Force’s 12 OAY for 2014

  • Published
  • By 1st Lt Jerred Moon
  • 24th Special Operations Wing
Two members of the Air Force Special Tactics community were selected as two of the service's 12 Outstanding Airmen of the Year for 2014, Air Force Personnel Center officials announced July 10.

Master Sgt. Delorean Sheridan, a combat controller assigned to the 21st Special Tactics Squadron, Pope Army Airfield, N.C., and Tech Sgt. Doug Matthews, a combat controller assigned to the Air National Guard's 125th Special Tactics Squadron in Portland, Ore., were named in the announcement.

An Air Force selection board at AFPC considered 35 nominees who represented major commands, direct reporting units, field operating agencies and Headquarters Air Force. The board selected 12 Airmen based on superior leadership, job performance and personal achievements.

Both Sheridan and Matthews received Silver Star Medals in 2013 for exceptional valor they displayed during separate conflicts with the enemy while deployed to Afghanistan in 2012.

The recipients of the award are authorized to wear the Outstanding Airman of the Year ribbon with the bronze service star device on the ribbon. They are also authorized to wear the Outstanding Airman of the Year badge for one year from the date of formal presentation.

Thirteen Special Tactics Airmen earned this honor since Sept. 11, 2001 and 25 total since the birth of Special Tactics on Dec. 22, 1976.

With six Air Force Crosses and 31 Silver Stars, the Special Tactics community is the most highly decorated community in the Air Force dating back to the end of the Vietnam War.